Organising Committee

On January 13, 2024, the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan, H.E. Mr. Ilham Aliyev, signed an order "On the establishment of the Organising Committee regarding the holding of the 29th session of the Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP29), the 19th session of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol and the 6th session of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Paris Agreement" in Azerbaijan.

The Head of the Presidential Administration of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Mr. Samir Nuriyev, was appointed Chairman of the Organising Committee.

To ensure inclusiveness in the composition of the Organising Committee, the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan, H.E. Mr. Ilham Aliyev, signed new orders to expand the Organising Committee on January 19 and February 22, 2024.

The members of the Organising Committee include:

Mukhtar Babayev	Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources, President-Designate of COP29
Jeyhun Bayramov	Minister of Foreign Affairs
Mikayil Jabbarov	Minister of Economy
Vilayat Eyvazov	Minister of Internal Affairs
Anar Alakbarov	Assistant to the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan
Farah Aliyeva	Head of the Department of Humanitarian Policy, Diaspora, Multiculturalism and Religious Issues of the Presidential Administration
Emin Amrullayev	Minister of Science and Education
Hikmet Hajiyev	Assistant to the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Head of the Department of Foreign Policy Affairs of the Presidential Administration
Kamaladdin Heydarov	Minister of Emergency Situations
Teymur Musayev	Minister of Health
Rashad Nabiyev	Minister of Digital Development and Transport
Arif Samadov	Chief of the Protocol Service of the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan
Parviz Shahbazov	Minister of Energy
Samir Sharifov	Minister of Finance

PRESIDENTIAL LIBRARY

Khanlar Aghalarov	Chairman of the Board of the Seaside Boulevard Department
Gulshan Akhundova	Chairperson of the "Women, Development, Future" Public Union
Nigar Arpadarai	Member of the Milli Majlis
Shahin Baghirov	Chairman of the State Customs Committee
Vugar Ahmadov	Chairman of the "Azerishig" Open Joint Stock Company
Aygun Aliyeva	Executive Director of the Agency for State Support to Non-Governmental Organisations
Sabina Aliyeva	Commissioner for Human Rights (Ombudsperson)
Eldar Azizov	Head of the Baku City Executive Power
Sevinj Fataliyeva	Member of the Milli Majlis
Sabina Hajiyeva	Head of the State Service of Cultural Heritage Conservation, Development and Rehabilitation under the Ministry of Culture
Vusal Huseynov	Chief of the State Migration Service
Mehriban Imanova	Executive Director of the Azerbaijan Science Foundation
Ilhama Gadimova	Deputy Minister of Agriculture
Anar Guliyev	Chairman of the State Committee on Urban Planning and Architecture
Elchin Guliyev	Chief of the State Border Service
Vugar Gurbanov	Executive Director of the Administration of the Regional Medical Divisions (TABIB)
Ulvi Mehdiyev	Chairman of the State Agency for Public Service and Social Innovations under the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan
Maryam Majidova	Head of the "Gender Hub" Public Union of the Youth Gender Equality Center
Saleh Mammadov	Chairman of the Board of the State Agency of Azerbaijan Automobile Roads
Natavan Mammadova	Secretary General of the National Confederation of Entrepreneurs (Employers) Organisations
Nigar Mammadova	Director of "DOST Center for Inclusive Development and Creativity" Limited Liability Company
Shabnam Mammadova	Founder of the "SmartNation" platform
Zaur Mikayilov	Chairman of the Azerbaijan State Water Reserves Agency

PRESIDENTIAL LIBRARY

Bahar Muradova	Chairperson of the State Committee for Family, Women and Children Affairs
Ilgar Musayev	Chief of the State Service of Special Communication and Information Security
Samira Musayeva	Deputy Chief of the State Tax Service under the Ministry of Economy
Zakiyya Mustafayeva	Deputy Chairman of the Food Safety Agency
Ali Naghiyev	Head of the State Security Service
Fuad Naghiyev	Chairman of the State Tourism Agency
Rovshan Najaf	President of the State Oil Company
Konul Nurullayeva	Member of the Milli Majlis
Balababa Rzayev	President of the "Azerenerji" Open Joint Stock Company
Samir Rzayev	First Vice-President of the Azerbaijan Airlines Closed Joint Stock Company
Ruslan Sadigov	Executive Director of the Baku White City project
Firuza Sultanzade	Chairperson of the Board of "EkoSfera" Socio-Ecological Center
Umayra Taghiyeva	Deputy Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources
Mariana Vasileva	Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports
Inara Valiyeva	Chairperson of the Innovation and Digital Development Agency under the Ministry of Digital Development and Transport
Parvana Valiyeva	Executive Director of the "Health Service" Public Union, co-founder of the "Environmental Protection First" Coalition
Fatma Yildirim	Member of the Milli Majlis
Saadat Yusifova	Deputy Minister of Culture

The expansion of the committee strengthened the representation of women and civil society.

Under the orders, the Organising Committee was instructed to prepare the Action Plan for the organisation and holding of COP29, as well as to take measures regarding the establishment of the operating company.

Secretariat of the Organising Committee of COP29 is tasked to coordinate the activity of the state bodies with respect to COP29.

The first meeting of the Organising Committee of COP29 was held on January 22, 2024. Head of the Presidential Administration, Chairman of the Organising Committee, Mr. Samir Nuriyev, made a speech about the activities and expectations from the Organising Committee for the successful organisation of

PRESIDENTIAL LIBRARY

COP29, as well as Azerbaijan's contributions to the international efforts in the sphere of environmental protection and global climate change. Referring to the tasks given by the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan, H.E. Mr. Ilham Aliyev, he said that all necessary measures will be taken to organise the event at the highest level.

Members of the Organising Committee also reported on agenda issues. Following the meeting, the Secretariat of the Organising Committee, the President-Designate of COP29 and others were assigned tasks on the finalisation of the Action Plan regarding the organisation and holding of COP29, as well as other related issues.

The second meeting of the Organising Committee of COP29 was held on March 7, 2024. The Head of the Presidential Administration, Chairman of the Organising Committee, Mr. Samir Nuriyev, outlined the progress made in preparation for COP29 since the first meeting, in accordance with the instructions of the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan, H.E. Mr. Ilham Aliyev.

Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources and President-Designate of COP29 Mr. Mukhtar Babayev spoke about his visits to various foreign countries to discuss issues arising from Azerbaijan's COP29 chairmanship. Minister Babayev also reported on his meetings with foreign officials and international organisations responsible for climate issues.

At the conclusion of the meeting, the Organising Committee was tasked with implementing the Action Plan and other pertinent matters concerning the organisation and hosting of COP29.